Alfred Music

  • $ 12.95

3 Preludes For Piano composed by George Gershwin (1898-1937). For solo piano. Masterworks; Piano Collection. Alfred's Classic Editions. Advanced level piece for the Piano Solo event with the National Federation of Music Clubs (NFMC) Festivals Bulletin 2008-2009-2010. Standards and 20th Century. SMP Level 10 (Advanced); NFMC Level: Musically Advanced Class 1. Single piece. 12 pages. Published by Alfred Music (AP.PS0043).

ISBN 0769260098. Standards and 20th Century. 9x12 inches.

These three short preludes show Gershwin's mastery of the melding of jazz and classical idioms. The Allegro ben ritmato e deciso is filled with rhythmic, syncopated rhythms and is a showpiece for bravura performance. Andante con moto e poco rubato is a lyric blues with ostinato-like accompaniment, interspersed with bridge material. Allegro ben ritmato e deciso, the brilliant closing to the set, displays dramatic writing with craggy rhythms and exciting syncopation. A powerful concert work.

About SMP Level 10 (Advanced)
Very advanced level, very difficult note reading, frequent time signature changes, virtuosic level technical facility needed.

We Also Recommend